17th Research Advisory Meeting of ICAR – National Research Centre on Mithun

The 17th Research Advisory Meeting of ICAR – National Research Centre on Mithun, Nagaland was organized from 21st to 23rd March, 2024. The meeting was chaired by Dr. M. R. Saseendranath. Members of the Committee included Dr. Amrish Kumar Tyagi, ADG (ANP), ICAR, Dr. Girish Patil, S., Director, ICAR NRCM, Dr. R. B. Sharma, Former National Coordinator, NAHEP, ICAR, Dr. S. Pan, Former Professor, WBUAFS, Dr. A. K. Sangwan, Professor, Veterinary College, Jalukie, Dr. Reena Arora, Principal Scientist, ICAR NBAGR and Mithun farmers Mr. Sambu Siongju and Mr. Er. Senkathung Jami, and Dr. Nazrul Haque, Principal Scientist & Member Secretary. The Scientists, technical officers and staff of the Institute and KVK Phek participated actively in the meeting.

The meeting discussed various research activities and recommendations, with presentations on the Institute's programs and changes in vision, mission, and mandate. The committee also visited Mithun Conservation Unit at Thevopisumi village, NRCM Porba Station and Thetsumi village, Phek district, Nagaland and interacted with the farmers. RAC also visited KVK Phek. Dr S. K. Singh, Senior Scientist & Head, KVK briefed various activities and achievements of KVK Phek. A publication on Package of Practices for Scientific Mithun Husbandry was released by Chairman and Members, RAC. The Committee after the visits and deliberations gave several recommendations.